当前位置

Latse Announcement

你们中的许多人都是喇孜图书馆的好朋友,或者至少对我们很熟悉。也许你参加过我们多年来举办的许多公共项目、研讨会或众多课程中的某一个。也许你曾带着特定的研究问题来拜访过我们,也许你曾向我们的工作人员咨询过,也许你仅仅曾在我们舒适安静的图书馆里浏览和阅读过藏书。喇孜图书馆是我们位于曼哈顿西村的家,拥有丰富的馆藏,举办有见地且内容广泛的活动、项目以及各类出版物,并拥有一个由专家学者和图书馆专业人员组成的团队,它已成为世界上独特的现代藏学研究中心。喇孜图书馆也已成为促进和分享藏地内外研究人员、艺术家和其他文化人物工作和成就的场所、论坛,在藏人社区和学术界都受到高度重视。

喇孜图书馆成立于2003年,它是利众基金会的一个文化项目,也是唯一一个在藏地之外的项目。今年三月,我们庆祝了它的15周年。作为一个图书馆,我们一直致力于藏语、教育及获取知识。今年,喇孜图书馆正在扩大它的作用,并重申这些承诺,因为我们将转变为一个公共非营利机构,简称“喇孜”。

新的喇孜将通过推广语言和文化,推进知识和终身学习,支持创造性和参与性,以多元化方式丰富当代藏人的生活,从而促进藏文化的活力和延续。

作为一个拥有强大背景的图书馆和文化中心,喇孜图书馆忠实于实现其服务及理想,新的喇孜仍将致力于通过创造性的和与文化相关的教育工具,以及新的、动态的资源共享方式,提供更多和更容易获得的知识。喇孜将通过奖学金项目和赠款项目支持和培养个人,以及资助那些由藏人为藏族社区提出的想法、项目及创新,从而致力于语言和文化素养的增长和可持续发展。

新的喇孜团队灵活多样,从语言、文学、文化、发展和图书馆事业等各个领域汇集了经验和专业知识。

喇孜的馆址仍在培利大街132号,并将继续保留并向读者提供其独特的图书、期刊、视听及稀有的其他资源,以供亲自拜访或通过我们的网站及社交媒体访问。

我们对前方的道路充满期待,能为新使命,与新朋友、新伙伴合作以及开展新活动而感到兴奋。作为一个公共非营利组织,我们最大的挑战之一将是筹款。但是,我们相信,无论是老朋友还是未来的新朋友,都将会与我们分享并参与实现我们的愿景和承诺,让我们共同繁荣,为藏族社区服务。

如果没有利众基金会创始人兼总裁安德烈亚•索罗斯•科伦贝尔和副总裁埃里克•科伦贝尔的远见、承诺和慷慨,喇孜图书馆的所有成就都不可能实现。你们一直是榜样,是激励,在利众基金会即将结束之际,在我们寻求一个非凡的机会来发展和成长时,是你们给了我们信心和决心。

新喇孜地址现重新调整集中在培利大街132号二楼, 我们欢迎楼上的新邻居,以前的图书馆阅览室现在是“此地此时”美丽的新家,这是一个与多领域相关的空间,目的是鼓励公众参与,培养创造力,促进文化交流。我们为它们充满活力的课程、展览和其他聚会感到兴奋,希望你们能加入我们,探索它们独特的产品。

请继续关注喇孜网站和社交媒体的最新消息、更新及公告。

代表喇孜团队- 我和Pema Bhum, Tenzin Gelek, Ira Pedowitz-期待与你分享我们的旅程!

李  克里斯帝娜Kristina Dy-Liacco
主管

You are here

Latse Announcement

Many of you are good friends of, or are at least familiar with Latse Library. Perhaps you have attended one of the many public programs, workshops, or classes we have held over the years. Or visited us with a particular research question, or to consult with one of the members of our staff. Or maybe it was simply to browse and read our books in a welcoming and quiet space. From our home here in the West Village of Manhattan, Latse Library, with comprehensive holdings, insightful and wide-ranging programs, projects, and publications, and an expert staff of scholars and library professionals, is a premier center for modern Tibetan studies unique in the world. Well-known and respected in Tibetan communities and academic circles alike, it has become known as a forum promoting and sharing the work and achievements of researchers, artists, and other cultural figures from both inside and outside Tibet.

Latse Library was established in 2003 as a cultural project of Trace Foundation, the only project to be based outside of Tibet. This past March we celebrated our 15th year anniversary. In our role as a library, we have been strongly committed to Tibetan language, education, and access to knowledge. This year, Latse Library is expanding its role, and reaffirming these commitments, as we transition into becoming
a public non-profit that will simply be known as “Latse.”

The new Latse will work for the vitality and continuity of Tibetan culture by promoting language and literacy, advancing knowledge and lifelong learning, and supporting creativity and engagement that enrich contemporary Tibetan life in its diverse pathways.

With a strong background as a library and a cultural center, and staying true to those services and ideals such institutions embody, the new Latse remains committed to providing increased and ready access to knowledge through creative and culturally-relevant educational tools, and new and dynamic ways of sharing resources. Through programs of scholarships and grants, Latse will be dedicated to promoting growth and sustainability of linguistic and cultural literacy by supporting and nurturing individuals and those ideas, projects, and innovations undertaken by Tibetans for the Tibetan community.

The new Latse team is nimble and diverse, and collectively represents insight and expertise from the worlds of language and literature, culture, development, and librarianship.

Latse will continue to maintain and make accessible its unique collections of books, periodicals, audio-visual, rare, and other resources at 132 Perry Street, both for in-person visits and through our website and social media.

We are looking forward to the path that lies ahead of us, and are excited in finding ways to work with our new mission, new friends and partners, and new activities. As a public non-profit, one of our biggest challenges will be in fundraising. However, we feel confident that old and future friends alike will share and engage with us in our vision and commitment, so that together we can flourish in service to the Tibetan community.

All of our achievements as Latse Library would not have been possible without the vision, commitment, and generosity of Trace Foundation’s founder and president Andrea Soros Colombel and Vice President Eric Colombel. You have been an example and an inspiration, and as the Foundation comes to a close, you have given us confidence and determination as we pursue an extraordinary opportunity to develop and grow on our own.

As the new Latse rearranges itself within a new, concentrated floor plan on the second floor of 132 Perry Street, we welcome a new neighbor upstairs, as the former Reading Room of the Library is now the beautiful new home of Here Now, a multidisciplinary space with the aim of encouraging public engagement, fostering creativity and promoting cultural exchange. Through programs, workshops, exhibits, and more, Here Now is a place where people, be they artists, crafters, thinkers, or the curious visitor, will inspire and in turn be inspired—a platform that will bring together skills and ideas, traditional and modern techniques, and different forms of expressions with the aim of building a dialogue that bridges together different art forms and the public.

Please stay tuned for updates and announcements as we develop our website and social media presence.

On behalf of the Latse Team - Pema Bhum, Tenzin Gelek, Ira Pedowitz, and myself - we look forward to sharing our journey with you!

Kristina Dy-Liacco
Managing Director